sustainable development goals

The 17 MDGs (or SDGs) are the concrete expression of the 2030 Agenda: an action program for people and the planet to fully achieve Human Rights.

The document, created and signed in September 2015 by all 193 member countries of the UN, will guide the world over the next 15 years towards the path of sustainability, universal peace, full and global respect for Human Rights, gender equality and empowerment. Every country is called upon at every level, from institutions, governments, organizations, leaders, policy makers/takers, communities, to individual citizens, to make its contribution to the achievement of the goals.

The problem

As with Human Rights, the actions of human beings are often not considerate and respectful of the dignity of other human beings and the environment in which they live.

To try to curb these behaviors and ensure egalitarian development for all, common goals have been identified on a set of important development issues: fighting poverty, reducing hunger, and combating climate change to name a few. Common goals mean that they affect all countries and all people: no one is excluded, nor should anyone be left behind along the path needed to put the world on the road to sustainability.

The goals global

The MDGs replace and further articulate, in 169 targets, the work of the Millennium Goals that preceded them. They point to the resolution of key development issues such as fighting poverty, eradicating hunger and combating climate change. The MDGs are interconnected and indivisible and insist in their work on the three dimensions of sustainable development: economic, social and environmental. Responsibility for their achievement is shared at the global, regional and national levels, which fosters accountability for all, supports international cooperation and enables exchanges of best practices and mutual learning. Crucial is the establishment of a multilevel working network that intercepts and coordinates the efforts of all stakeholders towards the achievement of the 17 goals.

The 17 SDGs

Goal 1 End all forms of poverty in the world.

Goal 2 End hunger, achieve food security, improve nutrition, and promote sustainable agriculture

Goal 3 Ensure health and well-being for all and all ages

Goal 4 Provide quality, equitable and inclusive education and learning opportunities for all

Goal 5 Achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls

Goal 6 Ensure the availability and sustainable management of water and sanitation for all

Goal 7 Ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable and modern energy systems for all

Goal 8 Foster sustained, inclusive and sustainable economic growth, full and productive employment and decent work for all

Goal 9 Build a resilient infrastructure and promote innovation and equitable, responsible and sustainable industrialization

Goal 10 Reduce inequality within and among nations

Goal 11 Make cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, durable and sustainable

Goal 12 Ensure sustainable patterns of production and consumption

Goal 13 Promote actions, at all levels, to combat climate change

Goal 14 Conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas and marine resources for sustainable development

Goal 15 Protect, restore and foster sustainable use of the earth’s ecosystem

Goal 16 Promote peaceful and inclusive societies for sustainable development

Goal 17 Strengthen means of implementation and renew the global partnership for sustainable development

Our work with OSS

our projects for

sustainable development goals